How to Buy From Amazon Japan to the Philippines: Door-to-door Delivery

Ever since our trip to Japan last May, I have been using a lot of Japanese products, including Japanese skincare and makeup. And let me tell you, they have been very impressive so far. This has led me to researching more about Japanese products and how I could get them shipped to me directly. Then I remembered: Amazon Japan!

Amazon Japan

I’ve known about the existence of Amazon Japan for a few years now, but I’ve never attempted to buy anything from it. Mainly because the whole website was in Japanese and I was overwhelmed by it. It was only just recently after scouring Reddit threads that I found out that they have a select number of items available to be shipped globally. So yes, unfortunately, not all items in Amazon Japan are available for global shipping.

I have bought from other Japanese online websites before such as Dokodemo. I also have created a Tenso Japan account, which is a Japanese freight forwarding company. But the downside to these is that no matter what shipping method you choose, you will still end up retrieving your orders from the post office. And if you’ve picked up orders from the post office before, you know how bleak that can be.

So why Amazon Japan? Because among all of the stores I researched about, Amazon Japan is the only one that can offer direct door-to-door shipping.  Yes, Amazon Japan can ship items directly from Japan to straight to your door through AmazonGlobal Priority Shipping!

Create an Amazon Japan Account

  1. Go to the Amazon Japan website.

    Screen Shot 2018-07-23 at 10.02.28 PM

  2. Change the site language from Japanese to English.

    Screen Shot 2018-07-23 at 10.04.50 PM

  3. Create an Amazon Japan account.

    Screen Shot 2018-07-23 at 10.16.33 PM
    Screen Shot 2018-07-23 at 10.32.16 PM

    As a member of Amazon US, I thought that I would be able to log on using my Amazon US email account and password. But nope, I had to create a new account. Still, I registered the same email and password as my Amazon US account so that it will be easy for me to remember.

  4. Go to your account details and input your Philippine address.

    Screen Shot 2018-07-23 at 10.34.15 PMScreen Shot 2018-07-23 at 10.35.53 PM

Shop Through the AmazonGlobal Category

Only the products in this category can be shipped globally so if you are planning to have items shipped from Japan directly to your door, this is the category to peruse. I find searching through this method is better than ticking the “Eligible for International Shipping” found at the left side of the webpage whenever searching for a product.

You can click here to be directed to the AmazonGlobal category, or you can scroll to the very bottom of the page and you will see the AmazonGlobal link.

Screen Shot 2018-07-23 at 10.52.41 PM.png

Note: There are some products here in the AmazonGlobal category that cannot be shipped to the Philippines. For instance, I have tried purchasing some detergent that’s in the AmazonGlobal category but when I was about to check out, it said that the item cannot be shipped to my address.

There are a lot of helpful information in the AmazonGlobal home page. Also, if you have Google Chrome installed, there is an feature that can translate the whole webpage.

Screen Shot 2018-07-23 at 10.57.40 PM

Note: Some brand names are in a translated version or in Japanese characters. For example, when I was looking for Hada Labo products, I saw some of them labeled as “Skin Lab”, “Producing Lab” or “肌研”.

The products’ currency is in the Japanese Yen.

As of writing this, ₱0.4781 = ¥1 or ₱478.1 = ¥1000.

Proceed to Checkout

  1. Go to your cart and proceed to checkout.

    Screen Shot 2018-07-23 at 11.12.25 PM

  2. Choose your shipping address.

    Screen Shot 2018-07-23 at 11.15.07 PM

  3. Choose your delivery options.

    Screen Shot 2018-07-23 at 11.20.23 PM
    There is only one delivery option available for shipping to the Philippines which is the AmazonGlobal Priority Shipping. I consulted the Amazon Japan Help page and found that shipping to the Philippines takes around 2-3 days.

    The shipping rates are dependent on the product’s chargeable weight and product category.

    Click here for more information about shipping times.
    Click here for more information about shipping rates.

  4. Select your payment method.

    Screen Shot 2018-07-23 at 11.33.10 PM

    I’ve chosen to pay with my credit card. Cash on delivery is not available and payments through other channels are only available in Japan.

  5. Place your order.

    Screen Shot 2018-07-23 at 11.43.37 PM
    Here I finally see the total shipping and handling cost. This order was ¥4182 or ₱2007.78.

    And here’s the order confirmation on the website and email:

    Screen Shot 2018-07-23 at 11.57.47 PM
    Screen Shot 2018-07-24 at 12.02.49 AM
    All three (3) items have the estimated delivery dates of July 27, 2018 – July 28, 2018. I placed the order on July 23, 2018 at 11:57PM (July 24, 2018 12:57AM Japanese time). So it’s around 2-3 days.

    The order details and tracking information are also available at the Amazon Japan website.

    Screen Shot 2018-07-24 at 12.09.12 AM
    Screen Shot 2018-07-24 at 12.16.42 AM
    There aren’t any tracking details yet as I just placed the order. But it’s cool how they have these estimated dates laid out.

Timeline (Philippine Time)

July 23, 2018 11:57PM: Amazon sends me a confirmation email of my order.
July 24, 2018 1:21PM: Amazon informs me that my order has shipped and provides tracking details. The courier is DHL.

 

July 25, 2018 2:09PM: Package was delivered to me. 

I am very impressed with the speed of delivery! This is amazing, even faster than when I have something shipped locally. It took just two business days from Japan to my doorstep here in the Philippines. DHL also kept me posted with the updates about my package.

The shipping I paid in all is around ¥1,378 or ₱664. For me, this is definitely worth the price, especially with their delivery speed and the fact that it got delivered straight to my door.

Pros:
– Fast shipping through DHL.
– Prompt updates are sent.
– Door-to-door delivery.
– Amazon Points are earned for each eligible product.
– Returns and refunds are accepted.

Cons:
– Not all items in Amazon Japan can be shipped globally. You have to make sure to browse the Amazon Global webpage.
– The price can be a little expensive, depending on the items you will ship. But for the premium service and speed, it’s definitely worth the price.

I will definitely be utitlizing this service and will recommend it to anyone interested to purchase from Amazon Japan.

Rating: 4.5/5

Thank you for reading!

Also, please check out Polysplit Games for awesome indie games!

19 thoughts on “How to Buy From Amazon Japan to the Philippines: Door-to-door Delivery

Add yours

  1. You totally save my day. I’m really worried with my order before (not in Amazon). I had a very bad experience. So I’m always reluctant to order internationally.

    I really want to order some books in Amazon JP and your article gave me hope that I will not get the same bad experience.

    Thanks.

    Like

  2. Wow. This is a helpful article. I’m worried about import fees, though. The item that I just ordered is a lens worth 12,000 yen and the shipping fee is about 3,000 yen.
    I don’t if why the shipping cost is pretty expensive. Probably because of the estimated import fees?

    Like

    1. Hi, Elise! The shipping cost depends on many things: the volumetric weight and actual weight of the product and the shipping time. But I believe if your order falls below Php 10,000, it is not subject to import taxes.

      Like

  3. This is really helpful. Sana post ka pa ng madaming guide sa shopping overseas. Gusto ko din sana umorder pero more on gadget / games. Currently are you able to shop overseas? Mas matagal ba ngayon due to covid19 pandemic?

    Like

  4. Thanks so much for this! I found that I can order a record for only 1k + shipping is only less than 300 pesos. That’s a steal compared to if I was to buy a record here in the Philippines, one record alone costs 2k.

    Like

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑